Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Catherine's War / By Julia Billet ; Claire Fauvel ; Translation by Ivanka Hahnenberger.

Billet, Julia, (Author.). Fauvel, Claire, (artist.). Hahnenberger, Ivanka, (translator.).

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Krum Public Library.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Denton County. (Show)
  • 1 of 2 copies available at North Texas Library Consortium. (Show)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Krum Public Library J GN BIL (Text) 36249000193111 JUNIOR GRAPHIC NOVELS Checked out 10/06/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062915603
  • ISBN: 0062915606
  • ISBN: 9780062915597
  • ISBN: 0062915592
  • Physical Description: 154 pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First U.S. edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Harper Alley, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2020.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"Originally published in 2017 in French by Rue de Sèvres as La guerre de Catherine"--Title page verso.
Summary, etc.:
"A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that asks universal questions about a young girls coming of age story, her identity, her passions, and her first loves. At the ̈Svres Children's Home outside Paris, Rachel Cohen has discovered her passion photography. Although she hasn't heard from her parents in months, she loves the people at her school, adores capturing what she sees in pictures, and tries not to worry too much about Hitlers war. But as France buckles under the Nazi regime, danger closes in, and Rachel must change her name and go into hiding. As Catherine Colin, Rachel Cohen is faced with leaving the ̈Svres Home and the friends she made there behind. But with her beautiful camera, Catherine possesses an object with the power to remember. For the rest of the war, Catherine bears witness to her own journey, and to the countless heroes whose courage and generosity saved the lives of many, including her own. Based on the authors mothers own experiences as a hidden child in France during World War II, Catherines War is one of the most accessible historical graphic novels featuring a powerful girl since Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi perfect for fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief, Anne Frank, or Helen Keller."-- Provided by publisher.
Target Audience Note:
Ages 8-12
Subject: World War, 1939-1945 > France > Comic books, strips, etc.
France > History > German occupation, 1940-1945 > Comic books, strips, etc.
Jewish children in the Holocaust > Comic books, strips, etc.
Photographers > Comic books, strips, etc.
Children > Institutional care > Comic books, strips, etc.
Genre: Graphic novels.
Historical comics.
Biographical comics.

Additional Resources