Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Krum Public Library.
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Denton County. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at North Texas Library Consortium. (Show)

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Krum Public Library F KAD (Text) 36249000194354 Book Club Checked out 08/16/2022

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781328915788
  • ISBN: 1328915786
  • Physical Description: 575 pages ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, [2018]

Content descriptions

General Note:
First Mariner Books edition 2018
Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references
Summary, etc.:
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book. Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph." Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Women historians > Fiction
Jewish women > Fiction
Genre: Jewish fiction
Historical fiction

Additional Resources